Dr. V.K. Saraswat,

Scientific Advisor to Raksha Mantri


Secretary  Dept of Defence R&D, DGR&D  

Dr Vijay Kumar Saraswat, has taken over as Secy Dept of Defence R&D, DGR&D and SA to RM w.e.f. 1st Sep 2009. Born in 1949, he started his career in DRDO in 1972 with development of India's first Liquid Propulsion Engine, DEVIL. An M.Tech. from Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Banglore, he obtained a Doctorate in Propulsion Engineering from Osmania University. He established facilities for design, production and testing of engines and the RCS technologies for the missile applications.



As Project Director, he steered the design, development, production and induction of first indigenous surface-to-surface missile system Prithvi into the Armed Forces. The successful testing of missile on-board a moving ship with very Dhanush high terminal accuracy brought new dimensions in the national Defence scenario. Under the able leadership of Dr Saraswat, India has embarked on a challenging, futuristic Air Defence Programme encompassing development of complex anti ballistic missile systems, Radars, C4I systems and integration of battle management resources into a national authority. As Programme Director, he has spearheaded the concept of Theatre Defence Systems and integration of National Air Defence elements. As Director, Research Centre Imarat (RCI), Hyderabad, he conceptualized and established facilities for development of Micro and Nano Sensors for future avionics. He served as Chief Controller R&D (Missiles and Strategic Systems) for about four years before taking over present appointments.



Dr Saraswat is a fellow of National Academy of Engineering, Aeronautical Society of India, Astronautical Society of India, and Institution of Engineers. He is Chairman, Combustion Institute (Indian Section) and Aeronautical Society of India (Hyderabad Branch).



Dr Saraswat is the recipient of DRDO Scientist of the Year Award- 1987, National Aeronautical Prize-1993, DRDO Technology Transfer Award -1996 and Performance Excellence Award 1999. For his outstanding contributions to the nation, he has been conferred with Padma Shri in 1998.