Hon’ble President of India during his meeting with NITs Directors had highlightedthe importance of knowledge-driven society and highlighted the significance of innovation in present times. The creation, application and dissemination of knowledgehave resulted in competition, economic growth and transformation of society.

However, it is observed that many knowledge creating activities do not go beyond the classroom in an institute. Therefore, there is an urgent need to focus on the importance of innovation in our education system so as to play a pivotal role in imbibing spirit of innovation among the students, faculty and other stakeholders. This would certainly help in evolving sustainable solutions and improving quality of life and make world a better place for the younger generation.


To develop a culture of innovation and creative problem-solving ability in young minds by providing technical and knowledge driven ambience which can utilize ideas and add value for improving quality of life.


The Centre for Promoting Innovation (CPI ) envisagesto support innovative ideas of an individual or a group of individuals in the area related to the development of new products/goods for the benefit of mankind and/or novel approaches for addressing social issues for inclusive development of the society. It also intends to bring together technologists, engineers, medical professionals, business analysts to develop all inclusive innovationthat creates an impact on the quality of life.


  • To provide resource and infrastructure to nurture innovative ideas.
  • To serve as a hub for collaborators for promoting all forms of innovations.
  • To promote partnerships and collaborations with academic institutes, research laboratories and

          Industries worldwide working in the thematic areas.   

  • To promote grass-root research.

Other Responsibilities of CPI      

The Centre for Promoting Innovation (CPI) shall serve as a catalyst for technology based development. This Centre shallsupport a strategic approach to the formation of collaborative partnerships, facilitating and enabling the integration of various departmental research activities. It will focus on the commercialization of technology-based research outcomes from various departmental labs leading to the development of interdisciplinary research through the Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) cell.

The Centre shall alsoprovide assistance to innovators and researchers to launch new technologies and secure them by patenting. Formal linkages will be built with the Industry so that there is a regular flow of inputs from industry experts on research.

The core and technical committee shall examine the relevance and feasibility of commercial viability of the proposals/ideas received from the individual or group. The Committees shall also look after the functioning of the centre of innovation and assist in arranging possible funding from different sources.

Who are eligible?

An individual or a group of registered students of the Institute under mentorship of a

  • Faculty member
  • Faculty or staff of the Institute (Individual or a group)
  • A group of individuals from the Institution and other collaborating Institutions/Industries having MOU with the Institute

Thrust areas

The Centre shall promote innovative ideas for development of tools/appliances/product prototypes / softwares/ models for Science/Technology/Agriculture/Healthcare/Social Reforms/Business Administration in the following areas:

  • Consumer electronics
  • Green technology
  • Non-conventional energy
  • Smart materials
  • E-waste management
  • Social reforms
  • Healthcare
  • Agriculture
  • Sewage Treatment
  • Water Harvesting and Management
  • any other technology for  inclusive development

Core Committee:


1 Prof. Rama Shanker Verma, Director Chairman
2 Dean [Planning & Development] Member
3 Dean [Academic] Member
4 Dean [ Research & Consultancy] Member
5 Dr. Shivesh Sharma, Associate Professor, Department of Biotechnology Convener

Technical Committee:

1 Prof. Anuj Jain, Professor, Department of Applied Mechanics Chairman
2 Dr. P.R. Pal, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering Member
3 Dr. Yogendra Kumar Prajapati, Assistant Professor,Department of Electronic & Communication Engineering            Member
4 Dr. Animesh Ojha, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics Member
5 Dr. Ashutosh Pandey, Assistant Professor , Department of Chemistry Member
6 Dr. Sameer Saraswati, Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engg Member
7 Dr. Rajesh Gupta, Associate Professor, Department of Electrical Engg. Member
8 Dr. Manisha Sachan, Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology Member
9 Dr. Ravindra Tripathi, Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences Member
10 Dr. Piyali Ghosh, Assistant Professor, School of Management Studies Member
11 Dr. Pramod Kumar Yadav, Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics Member
12 Dr. Ranvijay, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering  Member
13 Dr. Ankur Gaur, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering Member
14 Dr. Ambak K.Rai, Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology Member
15 Dr. Varun Singh, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering Member
16 Dr. Shivesh Sharma, Associate Professor, Department of Biotechnology Convener